The Office for National Statistics (ONS) has today announced the appointment of seven new ONS Fellows. They join our Economic Experts Working Group (EEWG) and will take a hands-on role, working with ONS staff and offering expert advice on important topics, to help ensure the ONS remains a world leader in economic statistics.  

The newly appointed Fellows are:  

Gemma Tetlow

Chief Economist at the Institute for Government and former Economics Correspondent at the 'Financial Times' and Programme Director at the Institute for Fiscal Studies. Her expertise includes using administrative data for research and linking household surveys and administrative data, designing survey questions to capture information on pension assets, designing and analysing longitudinal data and using data for cross-country comparisons. 

Stuart McIntyre

Professor of Economics, University of Strathclyde, whose expertise includes regional economics, labour markets and public policy, and carbon accounting including satellite accounts.  

Mirko Draca

Professor of Economics at the University of Warwick, whose expertise includes labour markets, technology, crime, social attitudes, machine learning and natural language methods. 

Anthony Savagar

Senior Lecturer, University of Kent, whose areas of expertise include macroeconomics, UK economy, industrial organisation, productivity, firm dynamics and firm-level data. 

Melanie Jones

Professor of Economics at Cardiff Business School, whose areas of expertise include empirical labour economics, particularly labour market inequality. 

Marcel Lukas

Lecturer in Banking and Finance at the University of St Andrews, who is an expert in consumer financial decision-making, and financial technology, using alternative data sources.  

Helen Simpson

Professor of Economics, University of Bristol and former Director of Productivity and Innovation Research at the Institute for Fiscal Studies, whose expertise includes urban and regional economics, productivity and innovation, as well as empirical research using business and individual microdata. 

Reappointed Fellows are:  

Diane Coyle

Bennett Professor of Public Policy, University of Cambridge, whose expertise includes economics of digital markets and competition policy. 

Robert Heath

Former economist at the Bank of England, HM Treasury and the International Monetary Fund, whose expertise includes financial statistics, official reserves and debt statistics, cross-border banking and portfolio investment statistics, financial derivatives and financial soundness indicators. 

Commenting on today's announcement, ONS Director General for Economic Statistics Mike Keoghan said: 

"We are honoured to welcome another excellent group of ONS Fellows. Being able to draw on the advice and expertise of this group of experienced and respected economic experts will be key to the next phase of our continuing development of UK economic statistics." 


Media contacts

Media Relations Office: +44 845 604 1858
Emergency on-call: +44 7867 906553