The current Standard Occupational Classification (SOC) for the UK is published in three volumes.

Within the context of the classification, jobs are classified in terms of their skill level and skill content.

It is used for career information to labour market entrants, job matching by employment agencies and the development of government labour market policies.

SOC 2020 volumes

Standard Occupational Classification 2020: SOC 2020 is the latest update and is divided into three volumes.

SOC 2020 Volume 1: structure and descriptions of unit groups: outlines the background, resources, concepts and processes of SOC 2020.

SOC 2020 Volume 2: the coding index: provides the coding index for SOC 2020.

SOC 2020 Volume 3: the National Statistics Socio-economic Classification (NS-SEC rebased on the SOC 2020): NS-SEC has been constructed to measure the employment relations and conditions of occupations.

Related information

SOC 2010

The International Standard Classification of Occupations 2008

SOC 2020 to the International Standard Classification of Occupations 2008 mapping information

The relationship between Standard Occupational Classification 2010 and Standard Occupational Classification 2020

SOC 2020 English apprenticeship standards

SOC Archive

SOC coding tool

Cascot: Computer Assisted Structured Coding Tool


For more information on SOC 2020 and NS-SEC, please contact the Classifications Unit:

Classifications Unit
Office for National Statistics
Segensworth Road
PO15 5RR


For all other statistical enquiries:

Telephone: 0845 601 3034


Efallai y bydd hefyd gennych ddiddordeb yn: