1. General government

The general government sector is made up of units providing services for collective or individual consumption that are not sold at market prices. These units are usually funded by compulsory payments from units in other sectors (taxes) and may be involved in the redistribution of national income (for example, benefits and State Pension).

The sector includes government departments and agencies, local authorities, the devolved administrations in Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales, the state education system, the National Health Service, the armed forces and the police. Non-departmental public bodies are also included in the general government sector.

The UK National Accounts, The Blue Book: 2019 edition presents estimates for the general government sector and subsector breakdowns for:

  • central government

  • local government

Further information on sector classifications and classification decisions can be found in Economic statistics classifications.

Nôl i'r tabl cynnwys
View all data in this compendium

Manylion cyswllt ar gyfer y Casgliad

Bob Richards
Ffôn: +44 (0)1633 662963